PROUD TO BE PART OF THE ESSENTIAL THEATRE TRADITION

Since its inception in 2001, the Essential Theatre Playwriting Award has been given to:

Parts They Call Deep by Lauren Gunderson (2001) Warts by Bill Gibson (2002) Speaking Nazi by Karen Page (2003) Background by Lauren Gunderson (2004) Miss Macbeth by Karen Wurl (2005) Charm School by Larry Larson and Eddie Levi Lee (2006) Leaving Limbo by Valetta Anderson (2006) Fix Me So I Can Stand by Jean Sterrett (2007) West of Eden by Letitia Sweitzer (2008) Jim Crow and the Rhythm Darlings by Vynnie Meli (2009) Qualities of Starlight by Gabriel Jason Dean (2010) A Thousand Circlets by Theroun D'Arcy Patterson (2011) Evelyn in Purgatory by Topher Payne (2012) Stray Dogs by Matthew Myers (2013) Ravens & Seagulls by Karla Jennings (2014) That Uganda Play by Theroun D'Arcy Patterson (2014) Lillian Likes It by Joshua Mikel (2015) Dispossessed by Karen Wurl (2016) When Things are Lost by Derek Dixon (2016) Another Mother by G. M. Lupo (2017) Built to Float by Rachel Graf Evans (2018) Woke by Avery Sharpe (2018) Slaying Holofernes by Emily McClain (2019) Baby Shower for the Anti-Christ by Ben Thorpe (2019) The Outrage Machine by Daniel Carter Brown (2020) The Wishing Place by Beverly Austin (2020) Raising the Dead by Erin Considine (2021) Calming the Man by Anthony Lamarr White (2021) A Complicated Hope by John Mabey (2022) The Manuscript by Matt Hoffman (2023)

The Rock & The Hard Place by Emily McClain (2024)